Open BIM Layout

Update history

In previous versions, the Open BIM Layout, StruBIM Steel and CYPE Connect programs had the following scene drawing modes: "Normal image" and "Monochrome image". As of version 2023.d, two additional modes have been added:

  • Hybrid image
    Image with coloured elements and edge vectors.
  • Vector image
    Image without colour fill of the elements, with vector lines.

The type of image can be selected from the editing panel in each scene.

The following options can also be accessed from "Vectorization":

  • Generate polygons with infill in the cuts by planes
  • Generate segments at surface intersections
  • Speed up the vectorization process using the GPU

The "Font size" option has been added to the general configuration menu of the applications. This tool allows users to increase or decrease the basic size of the font used in the user interface of the programs. Thanks to this implementation, the accessibility of the applications has been improved while also ensuring the correct visibility of the content on devices with different screen resolutions.

To enter a "Basic size" the "Set custom font size" option must be checked. The size users can enter is the application's basic font size. Any other font sizes that may exist in the program's interface will be automatically modified proportionally according to the change in the basic size.

It is important to note that, as this is a common parameter, its modification will affect all installed CYPE tools.

Since version 2020.f, applications with a 3D working environment include a floating toolbar to make it easier to enter or edit model components on the workspace. The options displayed in this toolbar depend on the active view and the element(s) being entered or edited.

This component is now anchored below the application toolbar. This makes better use of the available space in the user interface.

As of version 2023.b, Open BIM applications that have a direct link to other tools include the "Export BIM model" option. This option, which is active by default, allows users to decide whether to export the job information produced from the source application before opening the target application.

The possibility to skip the export process saves a significant amount of time when continuing the workflow in several different programs without making changes to the source application. However, it is important to note that if this option is deactivated and changes have been made, they will not be shared in the BIMserver.center project.

Version 2023.a of all CYPE programs that have the "Print/Save the current view" tool (usually all programs that display graphic information in a window) allows any generated 3D model to be exported in FBX format. This is one of the most common and accepted formats among rendering software (Twinmotion, Enscape, Sketchup+Vray, among others).

Exportation in FBX format is found in the dialogue box that opens when selecting the "Print/Save the Current View" button in any of the programs that include this tool. This feature allows users to export any element that is visible in the current window at that moment in FBX format (as well as elements that have been imported from other programs).

This new feature allows the content of one sheet to be displayed within another. When linking the content, any changes made to the original sheet will be automatically updated in the sheet containing the link.

The "3D Scene" library has been improved to include the following features:

  • Reorganisation of the scene library interface to make it easier to use.
  • New tools that allow individualised editing of elements in the scene:
    • Show/Hide elements individually.
    • Editing elements’ properties such as drawing mode (normal, transparent or wire).
    • Filling in sections individually.

As of version 2022.e, applications that are connected to BIMserver.center communicate with the platform more directly. As a result, it is no longer necessary to specify the user account(s) and projects to be synchronised in the BIMserver.center Sync tool before using the applications. When a user signs in from a desktop application, it automatically establishes the connection to the project.

Previously, some applications required the user to connect to BIMserver.center and select a project in order to start a job. Now, this is no longer necessary and the link will only need to be established when updating the project or sharing a contribution.

As of version 2022.e, the applications connected to BIMserver.center have an information bar displaying the link status to the project on the platform. This bar can be found at the top right of the application window and is divided into the following sections:

  • User
    Displays the BIMserver.center user name that has been entered to access the application. If a connection has not been established with a platform user, the text "Connect" will appear. If the user clicks on this button, they will be able to type in their name and password, as well as sign out in order to access with other login credentials.
  • Project
    Displays the name of the BIMserver.center project linked to the job, if such a link exists. By clicking on this button, we can obtain additional information about the project, such as its description, project type or view options. If any warnings or errors occur when uploading or downloading contributions to the project, a list will be displayed in this panel with all the incidents detected. Furthermore, the project icon in the bar will change to a warning symbol.
  • Status
  • Displays the status of the connection with BIMserver.center.
  • When a contribution is being uploaded or downloaded, the text of the message changes and the progress of the action is displayed.
  • If an older version of the BIMserver.center Sync synchronisation tool is running, the message "Incompatible version of the BIMserver.center synchroniser" is displayed.
  • The synchroniser can be downloaded and installed free of charge from the BIMserver.center platform or installed during the installation process of the applications. The latest version of the tool is required for applications to be able to display status messages.